Item 4.1

Council Committees - Functions, Membership, Election of Deputy Chairpersons

File No: S062388

Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer

To Council:

In accordance with the provisions of section 360 of the Local Government Act 1993, the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021 and clause 18.2 of the City of Sydney Code of Meeting Practice (the Code), the council may establish such committees as it considers necessary.

In 2019, Council resolved to adopt meeting times, functions, policies and procedures of the following Committees and Sub-Committees:

- Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, inclusive of the Economic Development and Business Sub-Committee, commencing at 2.00pm.
- Environment Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee.
- Cultural and Community Committee, comprising two Sub-Committees: the Cultural and Creative Sub-Committee and the Healthy Communities Sub-Committee, meeting consecutively at the conclusion of the Environment Committee.
- Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee, commencing at the conclusion of the Cultural and Community Committee.

Committee Structure

Following a review of the administrative arrangements associated with Council's existing Committee structure, a number of amendments are recommended:

- the establishment of four new Committees
 - the Business and Economic Development Committee (previously a Sub-Committee of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee);
 - the Housing For All Committee;
 - the Cultural and Creative Committee; and
 - the Resilient Communities Committee.

The Housing For All Committee, Cultural and Creative Committee and the Resilient Communities Committee replace the Cultural and Community Committee (comprising two Sub-Committees: the Cultural and Creative Sub-Committee and the Healthy Communities Sub-Committee). • the Environment Committee and Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee be combined into the Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee

The administrative arrangements associated with Council's committees are detailed in the "Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees" (refer Attachment A). This document has been amended to reflect the changes in Committee structure detailed above.

Election of Deputy Chairpersons

Council may elect a Deputy Chairperson of each Committee in accordance with clauses 18.15 and 18.16 of the Code of Meeting Practice.

Previously, the Council has chosen to hold a separate election for each of the Deputy Chairperson positions. Elections were conducted by open, exhaustive voting (that is, by a show of hands or similar means for candidates duly nominated).

At the Council meeting of 21 September 2020, Council elected Deputy Chairpersons for each of Council's Committees and Sub-Committees for a term commencing immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council, with the Lord Mayor chairing all Committees.

Council will be required to elect a Deputy Chairperson for each of the following Committees for the new term of office commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2022:

- (1) Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee
- (2) Business and Economic Development Committee
- (3) Housing For All Committee
- (4) Cultural and Creative Committee
- (5) Resilient Communities Committee
- (6) Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee

Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees, as shown at Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) Council elect the Deputy Chairpersons of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, Business and Economic Development Committee, Housing For All Committee, Cultural and Creative Committee, Resilient Communities Committee and Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately following the election and ending on 30 September 2022;
- (C) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting; and
- (D) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith.

MONICA BARONE

Chief Executive Officer

Attachments

Attachment A. Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees